With a view to improve the standard of living and ametiorate the social condition of labour, the Government of Kerala constituted Labour Welfare Fund Board on 1st May 1977. The Board consists 21 members including the Chairman. The Government by notification appoint the Labour Welfare Fund Commissioner to ensure that the provision of the Act and the Rules made there under are duly carried out. The head quarters of the Board is located at Thiruvananthapuram. The board currently has 10 district offices with notified juridication.